Congratulations to Melanie Ernst!

Melanie ErnstMelanie Ernst has been elected chair of the 2021 Mechanisms of Membrane Transport GRS.

The GRS is a unique forum for graduate students, post-docs, and other scientists with comparable levels of experience and education to present and exchange new data and cutting edge ideas.

Congratulations Melanie!

Maxwell Zimmerman Awarded Pharmacology Prize

Maxwell ZimmermanCongratulations to Maxwell Zimmerman for being awarded the Dr. Philip Needleman Pharmacology Prize.

The award is presented annually from the Department of Developmental Biology to a graduating student demonstrating outstanding achievements it the field of Pharmacology. Maxwell is a PhD student in the Computational and Molecular Biophysics Program – he is completing his thesis research in the lab of Dr. Gregory Bowman. (more…)

Dr. Greg Bowman Awarded Tenure

The Board of Trustees voted at their May 3rd, 2019 meeting to award tenure in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics to Dr. Greg Bowman.


More in the News Archive



Mr. Josh Rackers was awarded the 2019 Ceil M. DeGutis Prize in Chemical Biology/Medicinal Chemistry.

On June 7, 2019, Dr. Josh Rackers was awarded the 2019 Ceil M. DeGutis Prize in Chemical Biology/Medicinal Chemistry.

Dr. Rackers presented his research entitled “HIPPO: A physics-based model for biomolecular interactions”. Dr. Rackers was a graduate student in the Computational and Molecular Biophysics Program. Mr. Rackers was nominated by his thesis mentor Dr. Jay Ponder. In Dr. Ponder’s lab, Josh’s work focused on using the tools of applied quantum mechanics to predict the behavior and interactions of biological molecules. This work is motivated by a deeply held belief that physics holds the answers to many of biology’s most important problems. (more…)

2019 – Elson Fellowship Seminar

On February 22nd, 2019, the department held a special seminar to recognize the recipients of the 2017 Elliot Elson Fellowship. Ms. Min Kyung Shinn shared her research on “Assembly and Binding of E. coli RecOR Proteins to SSB C-terminal tails”. Mr. Drake Jensen shared his research on “Mechanisms of transcription represivation in Mycobacterium tuberculosis”. For more information on these two Elson fellows, please click here.

You can click here to view more photos from the event.

2018 BMB Holiday Party

CooperOn December 8th, 2018, the BMB Department celebrated its annual Holiday Party at Saratoga Lanes in Maplewood, MO. Everyone enjoyed bowling, pool and a visit from Santa.

Click on the following to view more photos or a slideshow of the photos taken at the event.

More in the Events Archive


Research Awards

July 23rd, 2019 – Eric Galburt, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, received a new four year grant award from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences for his research entitled “Kinetic regulation of mycobacterial transcription”.

June 14th, 2019 – Jim Janetka, PhD, Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, received a two-year Siteman Investment Program (SIP) award from the Siteman Cancer Center and Foundation for Barnes Jewish-Hospital for his research entitled “The role of pericellular serine proteases in tumor progression and resistance to anticancer therapy”.

April 29th, 2019 – Andrea Soranno, PhD, Assistant Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics received a new five year grant award from the National Institute on Aging for his research entitled “Conformational and functional analysis of Apolipoprotein E”.

January 31st, 2019 – Weikai Li, PhD, assistant professor of biochemistry and molecular biophysics, along with Michael L. Gross, PhD, professor of chemistry, immunology, and medicine, received a new four year grant award from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences for their research entitled “New chemical probes enable Mass Spectrometry-based footprinting of human protein structure in lipid membranes and cells”.

January 23rd, 2019 – Justin Porter, a Computational & Systems Biology student in the Bowman laboratory, received a three year National Research Service Award from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute for his research entitled “Physics-based precision medicine: computationally phenotyping myosin isoforms and cardiomyopathy mutations”.

More Research Awards


Recent Publications

Ordabayev Y.A., Nguyen B., Kozlov A.G., Jia H., & Lohman T.M. (2019). “UvrD helicase activation by MutL involves rotation of its 2B subdomain.” Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2019 Jul 30. pii: 201905513. doi: 10.1073/pnas.1905513116. [Epub ahead of print] (Abstract)

Sparks M.A., Singh S.P, Burgers P.M., & Galletto R. (2019). “Complementary roles of Pif1 helicase and single stranded DNA binding proteins in stimulating DNA replication through G-quadruplexes.” Nucleic Acids Res. 2019 Jul 24. pii: gkz608. doi: 10.1093/nar/gkz608. [Epub ahead of print] (Abstract)

Shinn M.K., Kozlov A.G., Nguyen B., Bujalowski W.M., & Lohman T.M. (2019). “Are the intrinsically disordered linkers involved in SSB binding to accessory proteins?” Nucleic Acids Res. 2019 Jul 22. pii: gkz606. doi: 10.1093/nar/gkz606. [Epub ahead of print] (Abstract)

Vishnu C. Damalanka, Scott A. Wildman, & James W. Janetka (2019). “Piperidine carbamate peptidomimetic inhibitors of the serine proteases HGFA, matriptase and hepsin” MedChemComm. 18 Jul 2019, doi: 10.1039/C9MD00234K (Abstract)

Tyagi R., Elfawal M.A., Wildman S.A., Helander J., Bulman C.A., Sakanari J., Rosa B.A., Brindley P.J., Janetka J.W., Aroian R.V., & Mitreva M. (2019). “Identification of small molecule enzyme inhibitors as broad-spectrum anthelmintics.” Sci Rep. 2019 Jun 24;9(1):9085. doi: 10.1038/s41598-019-45548-7. (Abstract)

More Publications