Category: 2020 News

Megan Cohan selected as 2020 Ceil M. DeGutis Prize Fellow

Megan Cohan

Ms. Cohan is a Ph.D. Candidate in Biomedical Engineering at the McKelvey School of Engineering. Ms. Cohan was nominated for this award by her thesis mentor, Dr. Rohit Pappu. In her thesis work, she utilizes a variety of computational and experimental techniques to understand how intrinsically disordered regions (IDRs) might impact the molecular functions of bacterial proteins.

Remembrance of Dr. Drysdale

George R. DrysdaleDr. George Drysdale, emeritus faculty member of our department, died March 17, 2020. We are saddened by the loss of our friend and colleague. Dr. Drysdale was a member of our department from 1954, when he arrived as a postdoctoral fellow to work with Mildred Cohn. He joined the faculty of the department in 1957 and continued as a member of our department faculty for the rest of his life.

Several of his colleagues, including his close friend Carl Frieden, have provided remembrances. To read them, click here. If you wish to add your remembrances, feel free to send us a message at or

Greenberg Lab Publication Highlighted in Circulation

A recent publication in PNAS (Clippinger et al.) from the Greenberg lab was highlighted in Circulation. The Greenberg lab demonstrated how a mutation that causes genetic heart failure affects not only how the proteins in the heart generate force, but also how heart cells respond to changes in their mechanical environment. This work has important implications for the development of new precision medicine therapies for heart failure.

The highlight can be found here and the PNAS article can be found here.

2019 John E. Majors Award Recipients

On January 30, 2020, the John E. Majors award was presented to Drs. Sarem Hailemariam, Brian Lananna and Elizabeth Mathyer. Each recipient presented their research, teaching and mentorship accomplishments.
For more information on each recipient, please click here