Category: All News

All BMB News

Congratulations to Jasmine Cubuk and Keri-Lyn Kozul for receiving the 2024 W.M. Keck Postdoctoral Fellowship award!

Cubuk&Kozul This fellowship provides one year of funding to postdoctoral appointees in the early phase of their postdoctoral training who demonstrate exceptional potential for becoming leading experts in biomedical research.

Dr. Jasmine Cubuk is doing her postdoctoral work in the laboratory of Dr. Andrea Soranno. Dr. Keri-Lyn Kozul is doing her postdoctoral work in the laboratory of Dr. Natalie Niemi.

Congratulations to Jinping Yang for receiving the 2023 Ceil M. DeGutis Prize Fellows Award

Jinping Yang Jinping Yang is a 5th year PhD student from the Department of Chemistry. She grew up in a small town in China, where she discovered her passion for chemistry during high school. Intrigued by the profound interconnection between chemistry and the fundamental aspects of life, Jinping decided to pursue her undergraduate degree in chemistry and was supported by the Top-Notch Student Cultivation in Math and Sciences Scholarship at Xiamen University. (more…)

Congratulations to Jasmine Cubuk for receiving the 2023 Ceil M. DeGutis Prize Fellows Award

Jasmine Cubuk Jasmine Cubuk is a recent graduate in the Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Structural Biology (BBSB) program. She defended on April 21st, 2023. She did her PhD thesis work in the lab of Dr. Andrea Soranno, where she studied how sequence composition of intrinsically disordered regions within a protein can affect interactions with both proteins and nucleic acids using single-molecule fluorescence spectroscopy. (more…)

Congratulations to Jenna Lin for receiving the 2024 John E. Majors Award

Jenna Lin Jenna Lin received her B.S. in Bioengineering and a minor in Biology from University of Missouri-Columbia. During her undergraduate research, Jenna developed a great interest in ion channels and electrophysiology. She began her Ph.D. studies in the Biophysics program at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2018 and joined the Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Structural Biology program in the Division of Biology and Biomedical Sciences at Washington University in St. Louis in 2020 when the lab relocated. (more…)

Congratulations to Lianjie ‘Jerry’ Wei for receiving the 2024 John E. Majors Award

Lianjie ‘Jerry’ Wei
Mr. Lianjie ‘Jerry’ Wei is a forth-year graduate student in the Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Structural Biology (BBSB) program. He is currently working in the Laboratory of Dr. Natalie Niemi in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics to complete his Ph.D. studies. His research is focused on understanding how protein post-translational modifications regulate mitochondrial organellar homeostasis. (more…)

Congratulations to Drs. Natalie Niemi and Andrea Soranno for being awarded the DBBS Outstanding Mentor Award

Drs. Natalie Niemi and Andrea Soranno were awarded the DBBS Outstanding Mentor Award on April 5th.  This award recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional mentorship qualities, providing invaluable guidance, support, and inspiration to graduate students in their academic and professional endeavors.

2024 BMB Seed Grant Program

The mission of the BMB Research Seed Grant Program is to promote BMB researchers at all levels to develop new avenues of research and/or collaborations that extend beyond their lab’s current research. The BMB Research Seed grant program goal is to stimulate new interactions with external scientists outside of the department.
A broad spectrum of proposal topics will be considered including fundamental studies in biochemistry/biophysics as well as more applied or disease-oriented studies that utilize quantitative or mechanistic approaches as a central component of the research.

Please click the link for more eligibility and application requirements. Application deadline is May 1st

Congratulations to Dept. Chair Dr. Benjamin Garcia for the following achievements:

Dr. Benjamin Garcia2024 ASMS DEIA Mentorship Award
The Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility (DEIA) Mentorship Award recognizes Dr. Garcia who has demonstrated exemplary service in the STEM mentoring and/or recruitment of individuals from groups that are underrepresented in the field of mass spectrometry.

2024 EAS Mass Spectrometry Award
Each year the Eastern Analytical Symposium honors Analytical Chemists who have distinguished career achievements. Dr. Garcia has been recognized for this award by advancing these fields by superior work in developing theory, techniques or instrumentation.

President-Elect of the U.S. Human Proteome Organization
US HUPO is an organization that engages in scientific and educational activities to encourage the use of proteomics technologies and to disseminate knowledge pertaining to the human proteome and that of model organisms.

Congratulations to Daniel Griffith for being selected as the 2024 MilliporeSigma Fellowship

Dan is a fifth-year graduate student in the Computational & Systems Biology (CSB) program. He is completing his Ph.D. in the lab of Dr. Alex Holehouse, Assistant Professor in the Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biophysics, where he develops computational and experimental tools for investigating intrinsically disordered proteins and biomolecular condensates. (more…)

Congratulations to Tessa Lochetto for being selected for the 2024 Elliot L. Elson Education and Training Award

Tessa Lochetto Tessa is a third-year graduate student in the Molecular Cell Biology (MCB) program. She joined DBBS in 2021 and chose to pursue her PhD thesis work in the lab of Dr. Natalie Niemi, where she studies how dysregulated mitochondrial protein phosphorylation influences the form and function of striated muscle. Specifically, Tessa addresses how hyperphosphorylation of mitochondrial proteins contributes to pathophysiology and tissue dysfunction in cardiac and skeletal muscles using cellular and murine models. (more…)