Faculty Members


Wayne M. Barnes

Associate Professor

Phone: 314-362-3351
E-mail: barneswm@wustl.edu

PCR methods; Aptamer selection to counter neurological diseases

Melissa Brereton

Melissa Brereton

Research Instructor

Phone: 314-362-3342
E-mail: breretonm@wustl.edu

Dr. Peter Burgers

Peter M. Burgers

Professor

Phone: 314-362-3872
E-mail: burgers@wustl.edu

Biochemistry and genetics of yeast DNA replication and repair

Dr. John Cooper

John Cooper

Professor

Phone: 314-362-0287
E-mail: jacooper@wustl.edu

Molecular mechanisms of cell motility and cytoskeleton assembly

Greg DeKoster

Gregory DeKoster

Research Instructor

Phone: 314-362-3342
E-mail: dekoster@wustl.edu

Roland Dolle

Roland Dolle

Associate Professor

Phone: 314-273-1214
E-mail: rdolle@wustl.edu

Chemistry Director, Center for Drug Discovery

Dr. Carl Frieden

Carl Frieden

Professor

Phone: 314-362-3344
E-mail: friedenc@wustl.edu

Protein folding, aggregation, intrinsically disordered proteins, fluorescence methods, ApoE lipoproteins and Alzheimer’s disease

Dr. Eric Galburt

Eric Galburt

Associate Professor

Phone: 314-362-5201
E-mail: egalburt@wustl.edu

Single molecule biophysics, optical trapping, magnetic trapping, DNA transcription

Dr. Roberto Galletto

Roberto Galletto

Associate Professor

Phone: 314-362-4368
E-mail: galletto@wustl.edu

Mechanistic studies of DNA motor proteins

Dr. Ben Garcia

Ben Garcia

Head of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics

Phone: 314-362-3075
E-mail: bagarcia@wustl.edu

Dr. Lina Greenberg

Lina Greenberg

Research Instructor

Phone: 314-362-7434
E-mail: linagreenberg@wustl.edu

Dr. Michael Greenberg

Michael Greenberg

Assistant Professor

Phone: 314-362-8670
E-mail: greenberg@wustl.edu

Molecular motors in health and disease.

Dr. Kathleen Hall

Kathleen Hall

Professor

Phone: 314-362-4196
E-mail: hallkathleen@wustl.edu

NMR and biochemical studies of RNA and RNA-protein complexes.

Dr. Alex Holehouse

Alex Holehouse

Assistant Professor

Phone: 314-273-8371
E-mail: alex.holehouse@wustl.edu

Understanding how intrinsically disordered proteins drive biological function using simulations and experiment

Dr. Maxene Ilagan

Maxene Ilagan

Associate Professor

Phone: 314-362-4445
E-mail: ilaganmg@wustl.edu

Mechanism of Notch signaling, Molecular imaging, Assay development, High Throughput Screening

Dr. Jim Janetka

James W. Janetka

Professor

Phone: 314-362-0509
E-mail: janetkaj@wustl.edu
Design and chemical synthesis of novel compounds; X-ray structure-based design; medicinal chemistry

Alex Kozlov

Alexander Kozlov

Instructor

Phone: 314-362-4394
E-mail: kozlov@wustl.edu

Mechanisms of DNA-protein interactions; DNA motor proteins (helicases) and SSB proteins

Dr. Andrzej Krezel

Andrzej Krezel

Associate Professor

Phone: 314-362-8482
E-mail: krezela@wustl.edu

Structural biology of transcriptional regulation in gastric pathogen Helicobacter pylori.

Weikai Li

Associate Professor

Phone: 314-362-8687
E-mail: weikai@wustl.edu

Structural and biochemical studies of membrane proteins supporting blood coagulation

Timothy Lohman

Professor

Phone: 314-362-4393
E-mail: lohman@wustl.edu

Mechanisms of DNA-protein interactions; DNA motor proteins (helicases) and SSB proteins

Ana Ruiz Manzano

Ana Ruiz Manzano

Assistant Professor

Phone: 314-362-4821
E-mail: aruizmanzano@wustl.edu

Natalie Niemi

Natalie Niemi

Assistant Professor

E-mail: niemi@wustl.edu

How mitochondria are built, regulated, and maintained across physiological contexts.

Michael Onken

Associate Professor

Phone: 314-362-4606
E-mail: mdonken@wustl.edu

Molecular mechanisms of cell motility and cytoskeleton assembly

Linda Pike

Professor

Phone: 314-362-9502
E-mail: pike@wustl.edu

Mechanism of action of growth factors; polyphosphoinositide metabolism

Dr. Janice Robertson

Janice Robertson

Associate Professor

Phone: 314-273-7758
E-mail: janice.robertson@wustl.edu

Single-molecule studies of membrane protein structure, function and folding in membranes

Andrea Soranno

Assistant Professor

Room: 2913 S
Phone: 314-273-1632
E-mail: soranno@wustl.edu

Single-molecule spectroscopy of disordered proteins

Rui Zhang

Assistant Professor

Room: MDS 253
Phone: 314-273-1663
E-mail: zhangrui@wustl.edu

High-resolution cryo-electron microscopy, microtubule associated proteins

 

Professors Emeriti

Jacques Baenziger

E-mail: baenziger@wustl.edu

Synthesis and function of unique carbohydrate structures as information-bearing macromolecules

Elliot Elson

Phone: 314-362-3346

E-mail: elson@wustl.edu

Dynamics and equilibrium of interactions of molecules in cells and model systems. Mechanics and dynamics of cells and tissues.

William Frazier

E-mail: frazier@wustl.edu

Structure-function analysis along with in vitro and in vivo models of vascular disease are employed to understand how thrombospondin-1 and its receptor CD47 control nitric oxide signaling in vascular cells.

Scott Mathews

F. Scott Mathews

E-mail: mathews22@wustl.edu

X-ray structure and analysis of macromolecules

 

Secondary Faculty