Category: 2018 News

2018 News

Congratulations to Dr. Pike and Dr. Hall!

Dr. Linda PikeDr. Kathleen Hall

Dr. Linda Pike and Dr. Kathleen Hall have been selected as new fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society.

The AAAS selects fellows in recognition of their distinguished efforts to advance science and its applications, and has selected eleven faculty members at Washington University in St. Louis – the most in a decade-and-a-half. (more…)

Dr. Pike Awarded Professor of the Year

linda_pikeOn November 15th, the Distinguished Service Teaching Awards ceremony was to honor faculty that exhibited exemplary teaching skills from the 2017-2018 school year. The Class of 2021 awarded Dr. Linda Pike with Professor of the Year. Congratulations Dr. Pike!

Congratulations to Sarah Clippinger for being selected for the 2018 Elson Fellowship in honor of Dr. Elliot Elson

sarah_clippingerMs. Sarah Clippinger received her B.S. in Biochemistry from the Ohio State University in 2016. After graduation, Ms. Clippinger joined the Division of Biological and Biomedical Sciences at Washington University in St. Louis as part of the Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology program. (more…)

Symposium in Honor of Dr. Jim Janetka

Jim JanetkaOn Friday, November 2nd, 2018, the Saint Louis Section of the American Chemical Society will hold an Award Symposium honoring Dr. Jim Janetka.

The afternoon will have several speakers, followed by a reception.

Make sure to send in your reservation by October 30th if you wish to attend!

Click here for more information on the symposium and how to get reservations.


Congratulations to Darrell Baldwin!

On May 24, 2018, Mr. Darrell Baldwin received the Washington University School of Medicine 2018 Operations Staff Service Award.
The Operations Staff Service award is given to a staff member who has demonstrated outstanding leadership, exceptional performance in their position and superior service.
The department surprised Darrell with an award ceremony and celebration in the seminar room where Dr. David Perlmutter, Dean of the Medical School, said a few words and presented Darrell with his award.

Ms. Melissa Budelier awarded 2018 Ceil M. DeGutis Prize in Chemical Biology/Medicinal Chemistry.

On May 22nd, 2018, Ms. Melissa Budelier and Ms. Lucy Li were awarded the 2018 Ceil M. DeGutis Prize in Chemical Biology/Medicinal Chemistry.

Ms. Budelier presented her research entitled “Mapping Ligand Binding Sites in Integral Membrane Proteins”. Ms. Budelier was a graduate student in the Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology Program. Ms. Budelier was nominated by her thesis mentor Dr. Alex Evers. In Dr. Evers lab, Melissa’s work focused on developing chemical biology tools and mass spectrometric (MS) methods to sequence the transmembrane domains (TMDs) of integral membrane proteins (IMPs) and identified the sites at which sterol analogue photoaffinity labeling reagents modify these proteins. (more…)

Ms. Lucy Li awarded 2018 Ceil M. DeGutis Prize in Chemical Biology/Medicinal Chemistry.

On May 22nd, 2018, Ms. Melissa Budelier and Ms. Lucy Li were awarded the 2018 Ceil M. DeGutis Prize in Chemical Biology/Medicinal Chemistry.

Ms. Li presented her research entitled “Glycan precursor transport in Cryptococcus neoforman”. Ms. Li is an MSTP student in the Molecular Microbiology and Microbial Pathogenesis graduate program. Ms. Li was nominated by her thesis mentor Dr. Tamara Doering. In Dr. Doering’s lab, Lucy studied how C. neoformans localizes nucleotide sugars to the appropriate subcellular compartment to act as donors for capsule synthesis. (more…)

Dr. Frazier to Be Honored for Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Dr. William Frazier will receive the Chancellor’s Award for Innovation and Entrepreneurship. Chancellor Mark S. Wrighton will present Dr. Frazier and two others with awards during a ceremony October 5th, 2018 at The Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Clayton.

Dr. Frazier

“Professors Achilefu, Elgin and Frazier represent the very best of Washington University and join the distinguished company of previous winners who have worked creatively and diligently to discover and disseminate new knowledge that brings great benefit to society,” Wrighton said.

You can read more about this at The Source.

Congratulations to Paige Cloonan!

Congratulations to Paige Cloonan (pictured, on the left), an undergraduate researcher in Michael Greenberg’s lab, for winning the Undergraduate Poster Award Competition at the 2018 Biophysical Society Meeting.

Paige is currently in her fourth year, majoring in Biomedical Engineering. The winning poster was entitled “Mechanical and Structural Analysis of Cardiomyopathies at the Single Cell Level”.

Jim Janetka’s work featured in PNAS

Jim JanetkaCongratulations to Jim Janetka, whose work on UTI treatments was featured in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

Dr. Janetka helped with a new study that may prevent the common problem of recurrent urinary tract infections with the use of a molecular decoy that targets e. coli bacteria. (more…)