Category: News

Congratulations to Darrell Baldwin!

On May 24, 2018, Mr. Darrell Baldwin received the Washington University School of Medicine 2018 Operations Staff Service Award.
The Operations Staff Service award is given to a staff member who has demonstrated outstanding leadership, exceptional performance in their position and superior service.
The department surprised Darrell with an award ceremony and celebration in the seminar room where Dr. David Perlmutter, Dean of the Medical School, said a few words and presented Darrell with his award.

Ms. Melissa Budelier and Ms. Lucy Li were awarded the 2018 Ceil M. DeGutis Prize in Chemical Biology/Medicinal Chemistry.

On May 22nd, 2018, Ms. Melissa Budelier and Ms. Lucy Li were awarded the 2018 Ceil M. DeGutis Prize in Chemical Biology/Medicinal Chemistry.

Ms. Budelier presented her research entitled “Mapping Ligand Binding Sites in Integral Membrane Proteins”. Ms. Budelier was a graduate student in the Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology Program. Ms. Budelier was nominated by her thesis mentor Dr. Alex Evers. In Dr. Evers lab, Melissa’s work focused on developing chemical biology tools and mass spectrometric (MS) methods to sequence the transmembrane domains (TMDs) of integral membrane proteins (IMPs) and identified the sites at which sterol analogue photoaffinity labeling reagents modify these proteins. (more…)

Dr. Frazier to Be Honored for Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Dr. William Frazier will receive the Chancellor’s Award for Innovation and Entrepreneurship. Chancellor Mark S. Wrighton will present Dr. Frazier and two others with awards during a ceremony October 5th, 2018 at The Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Clayton.

Dr. Frazier

“Professors Achilefu, Elgin and Frazier represent the very best of Washington University and join the distinguished company of previous winners who have worked creatively and diligently to discover and disseminate new knowledge that brings great benefit to society,” Wrighton said.

You can read more about this at The Source.

Congratulations to Paige Cloonan!

Congratulations to Paige Cloonan (pictured, on the left), an undergraduate researcher in Michael Greenberg’s lab, for winning the Undergraduate Poster Award Competition at the 2018 Biophysical Society Meeting.

Paige is currently in her fourth year, majoring in Biomedical Engineering. The winning poster was entitled “Mechanical and Structural Analysis of Cardiomyopathies at the Single Cell Level”.

Jim Janetka’s work featured in PNAS

Jim JanetkaCongratulations to Jim Janetka, whose work on UTI treatments was featured in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

Dr. Janetka helped with a new study that may prevent the common problem of recurrent urinary tract infections with the use of a molecular decoy that targets e. coli bacteria. (more…)

Congratulations to Catherine Knoverek for being selected for the 2018 MilliporeSigma Fellowship in memory of Dr. Gerty Cori

Catherine is a graduate student in the Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Structural Biology program. She is doing her PhD thesis work in the lab of Dr. Greg Bowman. Catherine is pursuing questions involving how mutations interact to affect the biophysical properties of proteins and how those interactions ultimately affect protein evolution. (more…)