Category: News

Congratulations to Lindsey Steinberg for Receiving the David F. Silbert Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

The 2015-2016 David F. Silbert Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award goes to Ms. Lindsey Steinberg for her work in the Microbes & Pathogenesis course. Ms. Steinberg was nominated by Dr. Henry Huang. Ms. Steinberg exemplified the spirit of this award through her dedication and lasting contribution to the course, the course master, and the students in the class. (more…)

Congratulations to Sarem Hailemariam for being selected for the 2016 MilliporeSigma Fellowship in memory of Dr. Gerty Cori

Ms. Hailemariam received her undergraduate degree in Biology from Shaw University in Raleigh, North Carolina. She joined the Division of Biological and Biomedical Sciences at Washington University in St. Louis in 2012 as part of the Molecular Cell Biology program. (more…)

Dr. Linda Pike – Alumni Endowed Professor

On July 11, 2016, Dr. Linda Pike was installed as the Alumni Endowed Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics. The Installation was held in the Eric P. Newman Education Center. Dean David Perlmutter and Dr. John Cooper presided over the installation ceremony. After the opening remarks and installation Dr. Pike presented a seminar entitled “Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Thyme: The Fine ErbBs.”


Dr. Thomas Kraft Selected to Receive the 2016 Ceil M. DeGutis Prize

Thomas KraftOn June 21, 2016, Dr. Thomas Kraft was selected to receive the 2016 Ceil M. DeGutis Prize in Chemical Biology/Medicinal Chemistry. This award was given in recognition of Dr. Kraft’s significant contribution to the field of Chemical Biology/Medicinal Chemistry.

Dr. Kraft was nominated by his mentor Dr. Paul Hruz for the research that Dr. Kraft did to develop novel tools to investigate the structure and function of the insulin-responsive facilitative glucose transporter GLUT4.

Dr. Thomas Kraft was a DBBS student in the Biochemistry program. After his defense, Dr. Kraft did a very short postdoc in the laboratory of Dr. Xander Barnes in the Department of Chemistry at Washington University. In June, Dr. Kraft accepted a postdoctoral position at Roche Pharma Research and Early Development, Roche Innovation Center in Penzberg, Germany.

CBSE Graduate Student Scholar – Maxwell Zimmerman

Maxwell Zimmerman, Computational & Molecular Biophysics student in the laboratory of Dr. Greg Bowman, has been selected as a 2016-2017 CBSE Graduate Student Scholar. Maxwell was recognized for the early promise he has shown in the development of novel sampling algorithms that are aiding feature-based sampling of high dimensional conformational spaces.

Maxwell has also been selected as a three year Monsanto Fellow which will allow him a unique opportunity to interact with Monsanto scientists in a variety of venues.

RNA Society News

Congratulations to Dr. Kathleen Hall. She was chosen to be a board member of the RNA Society in the recent elections for president and members of the board for 2017-2018. Dr. Juan Valcarcel (Center for Genomic Regulation, Barcelona, Spain) was chosen as President. Other new board members include: Drs. Haruhiko Siomi (Keio University School of Medicine, Tokyo, Japan) and Chris Smith (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom).

New Drug Development Center Created at Washington University


Michael S. Kinch and John A. Cooper, MD, PhD, professor and head of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, will serve as co-directors of the new Center for Drug Discovery (CDD). The CDD will fill the void in developing drugs that have been abandoned due to market pressures. More…